History of Trinity Chambers' Custom House
Since refurbishing and moving into the Custom House on Newcastle's Quayside in 2004, clients and visitors to the star listed Georgian building and home to Trinity Chambers have often asked about its history. In response, and following extensive research and investigation by local historians Mr Bill Purdue and Mr Richard Pears, a hardbacked book detailing The Custom House's story has been published.
Charting its various uses and adaptations since being built in 1765 in response to increasing trade on the Tyne, risk of plague being introduced by overseas ships, as well as dealing with increasingly brazen smugglers, the book brings The Custom House up to date in the 21st Century as part of Newcastle Quayside's iconic frontage. The history concludes with the extensive and sympathetic renovation, overseen by head of Trinity, Toby Hedworth Q.C.
Entitled "The Custom House Newcastle upon Tyne" ISBN:9780956428752, the book is available to buy from the Newcastle City Centre Waterstones store or alternatively can be purchased direct from Chambers by contacting Practice Director Simon Stewart on email@example.com.